We are updating our website design to improve the experience on our site.

Civic Role

Here for you

St. John's church is well respected in the community by the local councillors and the borough council. This means that we are often asked to play a leading role in civic duties. In 2016 the Mayor held his mayoral service at the church.

St. Johns also holds an annual carol service with Ashton’s Funeral Services for families in the local community who have lost a loved one during the year. This is usually held on the second Wednesday in December, but please check our calendar for confirmation of dates and times. Everyone is most welcome to these public services.

Carol service- upcoming dates

16
JAN
Joseph Vaz Indian Missionary
Joseph Vaz Indian Missionary
Date: 
Saturday, 16 January 2021 (all day)
17
JAN
Anthony the Abbot of Thebes, North African
Anthony the Abbot of Thebes, North African
Date: 
Sunday, 17 January 2021 (all day)
17
JAN
We are temporarily close for public worship
We are temporarily close for public worship
Date: 
Sunday, 17 January 2021 10:30 - 11:45
Angell Town
18
JAN
Week of Prayer for Christian Unity
Week of Prayer for Christian Unity
Date: 
Monday, 18 January 2021 (all day)
18
JAN
Confession of St. Peter the Apostle
Confession of St. Peter the Apostle
Date: 
Monday, 18 January 2021 (all day)
20
JAN
Cyprian Michael Tansi, Nigerian Monk
Cyprian Michael Tansi, Nigerian Monk
Date: 
Wednesday, 20 January 2021 (all day)
23
JAN
John the Almsgiver, Patriarch of Alexandria Cypriot Bishop
John the Almsgiver, Patriarch of Alexandria Cypriot Bishop
Date: 
Saturday, 23 January 2021 (all day)
24
JAN
We are temporarily closed for public worship and private prayer.
We are temporarily closed for public worship and private prayer.
Date: 
Sunday, 24 January 2021 10:30 - 11:45
Angell Town
25
JAN
Conversion of St. Paul the Apostle
Conversion of St. Paul the Apostle
Date: 
Monday, 25 January 2021 (all day)
27
JAN
Holocaust Memorial Day
Holocaust Memorial Day
Date: 
Wednesday, 27 January 2021 (all day)
31
JAN
We are temporarily closed for public worship and private prayer.
We are temporarily closed for public worship and private prayer.
Date: 
Sunday, 31 January 2021 10:30 - 11:45
Angell Town
02
FEB
Presentation of the Lord
Presentation of the Lord
Date: 
Tuesday, 2 February 2021 (all day)
03
FEB
Mother Elizabeth (Mary) Clarisse Lange, OSP. African American Nun.
Mother Elizabeth (Mary) Clarisse Lange, OSP. African American Nun.
Date: 
Wednesday, 3 February 2021 (all day)
03
FEB
Anskar, Archbishop
Anskar, Archbishop
Date: 
Wednesday, 3 February 2021 (all day)
06
FEB
Paulo Miki, Japanese Jesuit
Paulo Miki, Japanese Jesuit
Date: 
Saturday, 6 February 2021 (all day)
06
FEB
Gonsalo Garua, Indian Monk
Gonsalo Garua, Indian Monk
Date: 
Saturday, 6 February 2021 (all day)
07
FEB
We are temporarily closed for public worship and private prayer.
We are temporarily closed for public worship and private prayer.
Date: 
Sunday, 7 February 2021 10:30 - 11:45
Angell Town
13
FEB
Absalom Jones, African-American abolitionist
Absalom Jones, African-American abolitionist
Date: 
Saturday, 13 February 2021 (all day)
14
FEB
Cyril, Monk and Methodius, Bishop
Cyril, Monk and Methodius, Bishop
Date: 
Sunday, 14 February 2021 (all day)
14
FEB
We are temporarily closed for public worship and private prayer.
We are temporarily closed for public worship and private prayer.
Date: 
Sunday, 14 February 2021 10:30 - 11:45
Angell Town
17
FEB
Janani Luwum, Uganda Archbishop
Janani Luwum, Uganda Archbishop
Date: 
Wednesday, 17 February 2021 (all day)
18
FEB
Gambia National Day
Gambia National Day
Date: 
Thursday, 18 February 2021 (all day)
21
FEB
We are temporarily closed for public worship and private prayer.
We are temporarily closed for public worship and private prayer.
Date: 
Sunday, 21 February 2021 10:30 - 11:45
Angell Town
26
FEB
Alexander of Alexandria Bishop
Alexander of Alexandria Bishop
Date: 
Friday, 26 February 2021 (all day)
28
FEB
We are temporarily closed for public worship and private prayer.
We are temporarily closed for public worship and private prayer.
Date: 
Sunday, 28 February 2021 10:30 - 11:45
Angell Town
01
MAR
St. David's Day
St. David's Day
Date: 
Monday, 1 March 2021 (all day)
03
MAR
Women's World Day of Prayer
Women's World Day of Prayer
Date: 
Wednesday, 3 March 2021 (all day)
06
MAR
Ghana National Day
Ghana National Day
Date: 
Saturday, 6 March 2021 (all day)
07
MAR
St's Felicity and Perpetua, Tunisian Martyrs
St's Felicity and Perpetua, Tunisian Martyrs
Date: 
Sunday, 7 March 2021 (all day)
07
MAR
We are temporarily closed for public worship and private prayer.
We are temporarily closed for public worship and private prayer.
Date: 
Sunday, 7 March 2021 10:30 - 11:45
Angell Town
14
MAR
We are temporarily closed for public worship and private prayer.
We are temporarily closed for public worship and private prayer.
Date: 
Sunday, 14 March 2021 10:30 - 11:45
Angell Town
17
MAR
Canon Rosemarie Vicar Anniversary
Canon Rosemarie Vicar Anniversary
Date: 
Wednesday, 17 March 2021 (all day)
17
MAR
St. Patrick's Day
St. Patrick's Day
Date: 
Wednesday, 17 March 2021 (all day)
19
MAR
St. Joseph of Nazareth
St. Joseph of Nazareth
Date: 
Friday, 19 March 2021 (all day)
24
MAR
Oscar Romero, San Salvadorian Archbishop
Oscar Romero, San Salvadorian Archbishop
Date: 
Wednesday, 24 March 2021 (all day)
25
MAR
The Annunciation of the Lord to the Blessed Virgin Mary
The Annunciation of the Lord to the Blessed Virgin Mary
Date: 
Thursday, 25 March 2021 (all day)
26
MAR
Richard Allen African American Bishop (AME)
Richard Allen African American Bishop (AME)
Date: 
Friday, 26 March 2021 00:00 - 22:59
12
APR
Zeno, Mauritian Bishop
Zeno, Mauritian Bishop
Date: 
Monday, 12 April 2021 (all day)
20
APR
Marcelinus, Bishop & St's Vincent and Dominus, African Missionaries
Marcelinus, Bishop & St's Vincent and Dominus, African Missionaries
Date: 
Tuesday, 20 April 2021 (all day)
23
APR
St. George's Day
St. George's Day
Date: 
Friday, 23 April 2021 (all day)
25
APR
St. Mark the Evangelist
St. Mark the Evangelist
Date: 
Sunday, 25 April 2021 (all day)
27
APR
Sierra Leone National Day
Sierra Leone National Day
Date: 
Tuesday, 27 April 2021 (all day)
30
APR
Pandita Ramabai, Indian social reformer
Pandita Ramabai, Indian social reformer
Date: 
Friday, 30 April 2021 (all day)
01
MAY
St. Philip and St. James
St. Philip and St. James
Date: 
Saturday, 1 May 2021 (all day)
04
MAY
Monnica, Mother of Augustine of Hippo
Monnica, Mother of Augustine of Hippo
Date: 
Tuesday, 4 May 2021 (all day)
11
MAY
Simon of Cyrene
Simon of Cyrene
Date: 
Tuesday, 11 May 2021 23:00 - Thursday, 13 May 2021 22:59
13
MAY
St. Matthias, Apostle
St. Matthias, Apostle
Date: 
Thursday, 13 May 2021 23:00 - Saturday, 15 May 2021 22:59
21
MAY
Cristobal Magallanes, Mexican Martyr
Cristobal Magallanes, Mexican Martyr
Date: 
Friday, 21 May 2021 (all day)
24
MAY
Ascension Day
Ascension Day
Date: 
Monday, 24 May 2021 23:00 - Wednesday, 26 May 2021 22:59
26
MAY
Guyana National Day
Guyana National Day
Date: 
Wednesday, 26 May 2021 (all day)